Help Center

Toll free number: 1-800-311-1031

Staff Directory: Employee Benefits

BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT

John Deem, Senior Vice President, Business Development, 2008

301.458.2171 • John.Deem@potomacbasin.com

John Deem joined NFP/Potomac Basin Group in 2008 as an Employee Benefits consultant. In 2011, he received the Certified Employee Benefits Specialist, or CEBS, designation from the International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans. In January of 2012 John was promoted to Director of Business Development. In this role, John leads a team of licensed insurance professionals who consult with employers regarding all aspects of their employee benefit plans. In May of 2013, John was promoted again to Vice President of Business Development and in just recently in October of 2015 John received an additional promotion to Senior Vice President of Potomac Basin Group. John is an expert on the Affordable Care Act. He assists the agency’s clients with understanding the health care reform law, evaluating the law’s impact on their businesses, and developing strategies for navigating through the law’s complexities.

John attended University of Maryland’s College of Business and Management, where he graduated magna cum laude with a Bachelors of Science in Accounting and Finance in 1982.

CONSULTANTS

Gregg Avedon, Consumer Products Manager, 2011

301.458.2181 • Gregg.Avedon@potomacbasin.com

William Bacon, Senior Employee Benefit Consultant, 1991

301.458.2136 • William.Bacon@potomacbasin.com

Nader Barakat, Senior Employee Benefit Consultant, 2002

301.458.2164 • Nader.Barakat@potomacbasin.com

Joseph Finzel II, Senior Employee Benefit Consultant, MBA, 2002

301.458.2125 • Joseph.Finzel@potomacbasin.com

Sean Headd, Employee Benefit Consultant, 2016

301.458.2143 • Sean.Headd@potomacbasin.com

Andrea D. Masters, Senior Employee Benefit Consultant, 1988

301.458.2153 • Andrea.Masters@potomacbasin.com

Mark Reid, Senior Employee Benefit Consultant, 1988

301.458.2156 • Mark.Reid@potomacbasin.com

Dan Donoghue, Senior Employee Benefit Consultant, 1988

301.458.2156 • Dan.Donoghue@potomacbasin.com

 

CLIENT SERVICES

Jennifer Swistak, Senior Vice President of Client Services, 2015

301.458.2118 • Jennifer.Swistak@potomacbasin.com

Jennifer has been with working in Client Services for NFP since 2007 and was recently promoted to Senior Vice President of Client Services overseeing the NFP Potomac Basin Group Client Service Team. Jennifer and her team are responsible for not only providing outstanding customer service but also coordinating, implementing and monitoring group health insurance renewal plans and policies in compliance with state regulations.

Before joining NFP, Jennifer served as a group sales representative for Genworth Financial and HealthAmerica (A Coventry Healthcare Plan). She previously sat on the Board of Directors for the Greater Washington Area Health Underwriters. Jennifer graduated from Pennsylvania State University in 1998 with a Bachelor of Science in Marketing and a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology.

 

Ashton Hickman, Client Service Manager, 2014

301.458.2151 • Ashton.Hickman@potomacbasin.com
Servicing and retention of all Potomac Basin Group clients.

Stacey Piazza, Client Service Manager, 2013

301.458.2157 • Stacey.Piazza@potomacbasin.com
Servicing and retention of all Potomac Basin Group clients.

Dan Donoghue, Jr., Client Service Manager, 2011

301.458.2166 • Daniel.Donoghue@potomacbasin.com
Servicing and retention of all Potomac Basin Group clients.

Wendy Moore, Small/Mid Markets Client Coordinator, 2016

301.458.2160 • Wendy.Moore@potomacbasin.com
Helps manage renewal timelines, build RFP’s, answer carrier questions during the RFP process, review spreadsheets for accuracy, prepare renewal binder and other client facing materials.

 

Travis Boccher, Mid-Market Client Service Manager, 2012

301.458.2142 • Travis.Boccher@potomacbasin.com
Servicing and retention of all Potomac Basin Group clients.

Jackie Kociszewski, Mid-Market Client Service Manager, 2016

301.458.2135 • Jackie.Kociszewski@potomacbasin.com
Servicing and retention of all Potomac Basin Group mid-market clients.

 

Janet Hawkins, Large Group Client Service Manager, 2014

301.458.2114 • Janet.Hawkins@potomacbasin.com
She services Potomac Basin Group’s mid-market accounts with their renewal planning and strategy along with assisting in escalated claims and service issues. She is also able to help our clients with additional special projects.

Matthew Gondek, Large Group Client Service Manager, 2015

301.458.2122 • Matthew.Gondek@potomacbasin.com
Matt services Potomac Basin Group’s mid-market accounts with their renewal planning and strategy along with assisting in escalated claims and service issues. He is also able to help our clients with additional special projects.

Kathleen Detig, Large Group Client Service Manager, 2014

301.458.2124 • Kathleen.Detig@potomacbasin.com
Kathleen services Potomac Basin Group’s mid-market accounts with their renewal planning and strategy along with assisting in escalated claims and service issues. She is also able to help our clients with additional special projects.

Karen Jenkins, Large Group Client Service Manager, 2013

301.458.2148 • Karen.Jenkins@potomacbasin.com
Servicing and retention of all Potomac Basin Group clients.

Tim Eller, Large Group Account Coordinator, 2016

301.458.2130 • Tim.Eller@potomacbasin.com
Helps manage renewal timelines, build RFP’s, answer carrier questions during the RFP process, review spreadsheets for accuracy, prepare renewal binder and other client facing materials.

 

 

Monica Danztler-Machen, Client Service Specialist, 2006

301.458.2154 • monica.machen@potomacbasin.com
Responsible for carrier implementation for all new and existing business. She works closely with all carriers and the Potomac Basin New Business Department on internal General Agency transactions.